Welcome to NoPennyRenewal.com!!   


NoPennyRenewal theme song.
(Note:  Photo courtesy of The Hayride).




This website, the purpose of which is explained in the video below, will place on permanent display those members of the Louisiana House of Representatives and the Louisiana Senate who vote to renew the 1 cent "temporary" sales tax (or any fraction thereof) prior to its natural expiration on July 1, 2018: 



Sound Off Louisiana founder Robert Burns explains the purpose of NoPennyRenewal.com.
CLICK HERE for Advocate reporter Tyler Bridges' article referenced in the video.
(CORRECTION:  As politely pointed out by Mr. Bridges, reference to him being "at" the breakfast meeting
is incorrect.  Instead, he merely reported on what transpired at it).


CLICK HERE to ascertain whom your Louisiana State Representative and Louisiana Senator are if you're not sure.  All you have to do is supply the brief requested information.  Thereafter, you can request your polling location and also whom your elected officials are.  When the list comes up, simply observe your Louisiana State Representative and your Louisiana Senator.  Then all you have to do is see if that Representative or that Senator's name and photo appear below as having voted in support of the penny sales tax renewal:


Louisiana State Representatives voting for renewing 1/4 of the one cent sales tax:
(Red indicates Representative is term-limited and cannot run for re-election in 2019).


Rep. Mark Abraham, R-Lake Charles,
District 36
Phone:  (337)475-3016 abrahamm@legis.la.gov  


Rep. Neil Abramson, D-New Orleans
District 98
Phone:  (504)275-8051  abramson@legis.la.gov


Rep. Tony Bacala, R-Prairieville
District 59
Phone:  (225)677-8020   bacalat@legis.la.gov 


Rep. Larry Bagley, R-Stonewall
District 7
Phone:  (318)925-9588   bagleyl@legis.la.gov


Rep. Taylor Barras (House Speaker), R-New Iberia
District 48
Phone:  (337)373-4051  barrast@legis.la.gov



Rep. John Berthelot, R-Gonzales
District 88
Phone:  (225)647-5646  berthelotj@legis.la.gov 


Rep. Stuart Bishop, R-Lafayette
District 43
Phone:  (337)981-7409  bishops@legis.la.gov 


Rep. Chris Broadwater, R-Hammond (Resigned effective no later than March 1, 2018).
District 86
Phone:  (985)543-4900  (presently no email pending special election).


Rep. Thomas Carmody, R-Shreveport
District 6
Phone:  (318)862-9956  carmodyt@legis.la.gov 


Rep. Steve Carter, R-Baton Rouge
District 68
Phone:  (225)362-5305  carters@legis.la.gov 


Rep. Charles Chaney, R-Rayville
District 19
Phone:  (318)728-5875 chaneyb@legis.la.gov


Rep. Patrick Connick, R-Marrero
District 84
Phone:  (504)371-0240  connickp@legis.la.gov 


Rep. Michael Danahay, D-Sulphur
District 33
hone:  (337)527-5581  danahaym@legis.la.gov 


Rep. Paula Davis, R-Baton Rouge
District 69
Phone:  (225)362-5301  davisp@legis.la.gov 


Rep. Phillip DeVillier, R-Eunice
District 41
Phone:  (337)457-0194   devillierp@legis.la.gov


Rep. Stephen Dwight, SPONSOR OF BILL, R-Lake Charles
District 35
Phone:  (337)491-2315 dwights@legis.la.gov


Rep. Franklin Foil, R-Baton Rouge
District 70
Phone:  (225)342-6777 foilf@legis.la.gov


Rep. John E. "Johnny" Guinn, R-Jennings
District 37
Phone:  (337)824-0376  guinnj@legis.la.gov


Rep. Lance Harris, R-Alexandria
District 25
Phone:  (318)767-6095  harrisl@legis.la.gov

Rep. Lowell "Chirs" Hazel, R-Pineville
District 27
Phone:  (318)767-6082  hazelc@legis.la.gov


Rep. Stephanie Hilferty, R-Metairie
District 94
Phone:  (504)885-4154 hilfertys@legis.la.gov


Rep. Dorothy Hill, D-Dry Creek
District 32
Phone:  (800)259-2118 hilld@legis.la.gov 


Rep. Frank Hoffmann, R-West Monore
District 15
Phone:  (318)362-4130  hoffmannf@legis.la.gov


Rep. Nancy Landry, R-Lafayette
District 31
Phone:  (337)262-2252  landryn@legis.la.gov


Rep. Christopher Leopold, R-Belle Chase
District 105
Phone:  (504)393-5649  leopoldc@legis.la.gov 


Rep. Tanner McGee, R-Houma
District 53
Phone:  (985)858-2970 mageet@legis.la.gov 


Rep. Joseph Marino, I-Gretna
District 85
Phone:  (504)361-6013 marinoj@legis.la.gov 


Jack McFarland, R-Jonesboro
District 13
Phone:  (318)259-4275  mcfarlandj@legis.la.gov

Rep. Greg Miller, R-NORCO
District 56
Phone:  (985)764-9991  millerg@legis.la.gov


Rep. Jim Morris, R-Oil City
District 1
Phone:  (318)995-6852  larep001@legis.la.gov


Rep. Kevin Pearson, R-Slidell
District 76
Phone:  (985)646-6487 pearsonk@legis.la.gov


Rep. Stephen Pugh, R-Ponchatoula
District 73
Phone:  (985)386-7844  pughs@legis.la.gov

Rep. Clay Schexnayder, R-Gonzales
District 81
Phone:  (225)473-6016  schexnayderc@legis.la.gov


Rep. Robert Shadoin, R-Ruston
District 12
Phone:  (318)251-5038  shadoinr@legis.la.gov 


Rep. Joseph Stagni, R-Kenner
District 92
Phone:  (504)465-3479 stagnij@legis.la.gov


Rep. Julie Stokes, R-Kenner
District 79
Phone:  (504)468-8603 stokesj@legis.la.gov


Rep. Major Thibaut, D-New Roads
District 18
Phone:  (225)638-3811 thibautm@legis.la.gov 


Rep. Polly Thomas, R-Metairie
District 80
Phone:  504-83POLLY (837-6559)  thomaspj@legis.la.gov 

Final tally by party affiliation:


Democrat       4
Independent   1
Republican    33

TOTAL        38 (there were 67 "no" votes.)







Louisiana State Senators voting for the one cent sales tax renewal:


None because the House measure failed by a lopsided 38 for and 67 against.






House Ways and Means Committee Votes on Raising Your Taxes
During March, 2018 Special Session Called By Louisiana
Gov. John Bel Edwards
(Vote tally graciously supplied by The Hayride).



The bottom line?  The more red you see beside a "R," the more inclined that state representative is to believe Louisiana's budget contains no fat!  So, Chris Broadwater, Stephen Dwight, and James "Jim" Morris (with a 100% "let's tax the hell out of Louisiana voters" mentality), CLEARLY believe state government is a lean, mean, operating machine!  


Meanwhile, Philip DeVillier and Julie Stokes (60% pro-tax stands), clearly believe there is precious little fat in the state budget.  While John C. "Jay" Morris (40% pro-tax stand) clearly believes there's not much more fat than DeVillier and Stokes perceive.


Clay Schexnayder and Paula Davis appear to support a tax as long as the funds raised from it are dedicated to TOPS (HB-23).  While their support of HB-23 is rooted in a desire not to anger parents of college-age constituents, what these votes do by making such votes is enable the largess such as LSU's "Lazy River" to continue. 


Furthermore, wasteful programs like LSU's Interior Design Program continue unabated because the parents of snowflake children are scammed into this program by the use of a sophisticated Ponzi scheme.  Specifically, what happens is these unsuspecting kids are led to believe they are "special" because they qualified under the rigorous "portfolio review" system.  It's not until they are days away from graduation that the Ponzi scheme is revealed when they're told, "Go to Texas where you MAY be able to find a job because there are none in Louisiana for interior designers." 


Finally, through TOPS subsidies, LSU and other major universities have loaded down the payroll with six-figure, administrative, dead-head (political hack) "jobs."  The degree to which that has been able to be done is nothing short of astounding, and LSU has exploited this little mechanism to essentially cram these six-figure dead-head "jobs" down taxpayers' throats by using TOPS funding as a mechanism to "fire up the troops" to accomplish their goal of appeasing various politically-connected folk who could not earn even half what they earn at their "jobs" in the private sector!


Major KUDOS to the following REPUBLICAN State Representatives who obviously get that the Louisiana state budget is bloated beyond beliefDodie Horton, Barry Ivey, and Alan Seabaugh!


Also, thank you, Scott McKay and The Hayride, for enabling us to view with ease our Republican State Representatives' stands on raising taxes as you did in the above well-designed graphic!!